Amps…

In my last post I covered my current signal path:

I forgot to mention that I have re-introduced my Digitech Bad Monkey overdrive as an additional Tube screamer type overdrive.

I actually sold my Ibanez TS9 because I prefer the Bad Monkey tone … and I am in good company it seems!

Recent Bon Jovi lead guitarist, the incredible Phil X was using one for solos in front of the fabulous Evil Robot by John Kasha (you can hear the Bad Monkey at arond 3.30 in the following clip)

http://www.youtube.com/user/frettedamericana#p/search/1/Wt9d3G6PSRI

Amps 

Depending on my mood, I will plug into either a 1973 Hiwatt Custom 50, built by the great man Dave Reeves himself .

The preceding link is a must-read if you want to know anything Hiwatt related. which is  an absolute rockin beast…  great sounding amp… although very bright with the wrong speakers.

Or I use Framus Dragon, which is  a great sounding 100 watt 3 channel beast loaded with EL34s I generally use the clean channel at the moment – nice Fendery tone with lots of headroom for solo boosts if I am relying on my pedals… sadly it just blew up, so off to the amp doctor it goes… eek!

These plug into  a Framus 2 x 12 cab with Vintage 30s – very loud speakers, so I generally use my trusty THD Hotplate to knock back the volume.. absolutely essential with the Hiwatt!

Andy Mitchell – FORTHCOMING GIGS http://andymitchellmusic.com/#/events

Saturday 25th June – First headline acoustic show with my band, featuring songs from my forthcoming album “Rooms”

Tuesday 5th July – Karin Fransson album launch. 5 Green Carnation, 5 Greek Street Soho http://www.greencarnationsoho.co.uk/ onstage 7.30

Friday 22nd July  – Regal Room at The Distillers Hammersmith – stripped-down and delicate acoustic set with Ben King from The Yardbirds on guitar. this is a fantastic intimate venue with a great sound

Tuesday 23rd August – The Bedford Balham – Acoustic set with my band – The Bedford is widely considered as the place to go and see top quality acoustic music in London. Come down and celebrate the release of my album.

THE YARDBIRDS

1 gig in July:

Southbank Vintage Festival, London

http://theyardbirds.com/tour.html

Please sign up to the mailing list to receive news about upcoming gigs and the album release.

(facebook friends can go here to link up – the link will open a new window).

the official website of Andy Mitchell andymitchellmusic.com

facebook fans – click “like” and join the mailing list


sig footer

About andymitchellmusic
Official website www.andymitchellmusic.com 2009-2015 - Lead singer of legendary 60s rhythm and blues/psychedelic rock group The Yardbirds. Contemporary rock solo artist with stylistic nods to Classic Rock and 70s Soul. Session vocalist/harmonica player/guitarist. Producer.

Leave a comment